Free Read [Biography Book] ☆ The Case of the Green-Eyed Sister - by Erle Stanley Gardner ✓

By Erle Stanley Gardner | Comments: ( 824 ) | Date: ( Dec 10, 2019 )

Perry Mason was retained to protect the interests of the Bain family, who were being blackmailed with an audio confession of a crime they didn t commit Mason manages to erase the recording right out from under their nose, but then finds himself defending Hattie Bain on a murder charge.Mason s courtroom dramatics hit a high note when he produces a theory which changes thePerry Mason was retained to protect the interests of the Bain family, who were being blackmailed with an audio confession of a crime they didn t commit Mason manages to erase the recording right out from under their nose, but then finds himself defending Hattie Bain on a murder charge.Mason s courtroom dramatics hit a high note when he produces a theory which changes the time of death, and puts an witness with an seemingly unshakeable alibi on the hot seat Then the theory is collaborated with evidence overlooked by the police, and all hell is raised with the prosecutions theory of the case.


  • Title: The Case of the Green-Eyed Sister
  • Author: Erle Stanley Gardner
  • ISBN: 9780345378729
  • Page: 186
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback

About Author:

Erle Stanley Gardner

Erle Stanley Gardner was an American lawyer and author of detective stories who also published under the pseudonyms A.A Fair, Kyle Corning, Charles M Green, Carleton Kendrake, Charles J Kenny, Les Tillray, and Robert Parr.Innovative and restless in his nature, he was bored by the routine of legal practice, the only part of which he enjoyed was trial work and the development of trial strategy In his spare time, he began to write for pulp magazines, which also fostered the early careers of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler He created many different series characters for the pulps, including the ingenious Lester Leith, a gentleman thief in the tradition of Raffles, and Ken Corning, a crusading lawyer who was the archetype of his most successful creation, the fictional lawyer and crime solver Perry Mason, about whom he wrote than eighty novels With the success of Perry Mason, he gradually reduced his contributions to the pulp magazines, eventually withdrawing from the medium entirely, except for non fiction articles on travel, Western history, and forensic science.See at enpedia wiki Erle_Sta



Comments The Case of the Green-Eyed Sister

  • Evgeny

    A woman came to Mason with a legal problem. Her family (father ans siblings) were being blackmailed in such a clever way the police would not be able to do anything. Mason hated blackmailers and his personal strategy was not to give them a single penny. Armed with just his righteous indignation and his wits he went to see the blackmailer (actually his middleman) and in a spur of the moment managed to perform a real magic act which parted the crooks and their main tool. Luckily the readers get to [...]


  • Bobby Underwood

    “She’s too busy stealing her sister’s boyfriend.” - Della Street“No, she’s just giving her sex appeal its morning exercise.” - Perry MasonThe Case of the Green-Eyed Sister is one of Erle Stanley Gardner’s Perry Mason novels written in the 1950s, when Gardner was at his zenith in the famous series. This one is surprisingly breezy, in spite of the usual complicated plot involving blackmail and eventually, murder, and a rather lengthy courtroom scene.It begins like a horse jumping f [...]


  • Girish

    Brilliance! And am i glad, I kept this book for the last (in the series) :D60% into the book Della remarks "The damnedest things happen to us! I feel like bawling". Sure enough, the book was one complete delight where Mason has to overcome - not just the DA office or the police, but also a Miss Fixit client who keeps throwing spanners into the machinery.A new type blackmail gone wrong. Doctored tapes, unauthorised wires, search warrant against Perry, newspaper scandal and a brilliant discussion [...]


  • Bob

    I've been reading Gardner's Perry Mason books off and on for many years. Many years ago, I was an intense fan of the series, and read them all, at least once. Now, after a lot of water over the dam, I'm looking at them again.Those who are used to really fine mystery writers, such as Ross Macdonald, may find the writing style here off-putting. It can be stiff and mechanical. Nonetheless, I still love the general setting: the characters of Perry, Della, Paul, Lt. Tragg, and Hamilton Berger. That, [...]


  • Ana

    Gostei bastante do livro. O caso que deu origem à história é bastante interessante. Este advogado é de uma inteligência fora de série! A única coisa que não gostei tanto foi o final, achei que foi um bocadinho forçado e não me satisfez inteiramente mas, mesmo assim, gostei!


  • E

    This is considered one of the "tightest-knit" of the Perry Mason novels. It is perhaps not one of the titles that would immediately grab your attention on the shelf (like Terrified Typist or Cautious Coquette, for example), but it is very well done. Perry executes some crazy shenanigans with a tape recorder; his initial client turns out NOT to be the accused; by the end of the novel the identity of the perpetrator is still not 100% certain, and the most likely candidate is nowhere to be found. S [...]


  • 4cats

    If you've read a Perry Mason mystery you know it will follow a format, there will always be the same characters, a crime and you will end up in court with Mason winning. In this case, Perry is hired by a woman whose family is being blackmailed, however you never know whether to trust her. An entertaining read which fills the gap between more demanding novels.


  • Richa

    Loved this! A very interesting case with a lot of information thrown in. One of those cases where the client is more unorthodox than Mason, and thats rare!


  • Angie

    I can't help but love these Perry Mason mysteries. Especially when Della is heavily involved (and even more so when she puts Perry tartly in his place) and Paul makes a strong appearance. I sometimes think that I would read about Perry and Della and Paul sitting around and eating lunch and chatting. No lie.


  • Serena

    My Rating System:* couldn't finish, ** wouldn't recommend, *** would recommend, **** would read again, ***** have read again.


  • Mazeli Dee

    Well, I did not see that coming. ^_^


  • False

    Ever since reading that Gardner dictated all of his books, it's easier to see how that is true when you are reading them. He gets very long winded and he's in serious need of an editor with a good, strong blue pencil. Some passages that go on forever (usually in the courtroom) need to be slashed at. Two sisters, a family with questionable motives. Perry puts his career on the line and oversteps the boundaries of a defense attorney, once again, to get to the bottom of things. I miss the early, fi [...]


  • Ed

    #42 in the Perry Mason series. The Green-Eyed Sister, who Della Street describes to Perry as "I think she'd cut your heart out for thirty-seven cents", is a great character. She retains Perry to represent the Bain family against a blackmail plot that could cost them dearly.But "Little Miss Fix-It" as Perry refers to her won't let him run the case and decides to release information to the police. Eventually, the blackmailer is killed and the other sister is arrested for the murder. "Little Miss F [...]


  • JoAnne

    Sylvia Atwood has come to Perry for help. Her father is being blackmailed. He started his successful business with money that was lent by a friend, JJ Fritch. Supposedly, Fritch stole this money from a bank. Perry wants to hear the recording that the blackmailer, Brogan, has alluding to Mr. Bain's admission of knowing the money was stolen. Perry is figuring the family's way out of this when Sylvia stumbles onto Fritch's dead body in Brogan apartment. The police then arrest Sylvia's sister Hattie [...]


  • Carlos

    Un buen misterio que me tomó un par de días leerlo. Algo viejo por la temática pero Perry Mason sigue siendo Perry Mason. Un abogado de los buenos.Aquí tenemos un par de hermanas que están envueltas en un caso de chantaje y solo la inteligencia de Mason evitará que terminen en la cárcel.Nada como para hablarle a mi Madre a su casa pero aun asi ideal para esos dos dias que estuve solo en casa y me aburría de planchar, lavar, barrer, sacudir, dar de comer a los gatos y tender mi cama. Cual [...]


  • Nicole

    Although I've definitely seen this episode of Perry Mason a few times, but I couldn't remember the ending! The books have been fun to read and obviously go more in depth than the tv shows. I still picture the characters exactly like on tv, while reading. This story went a bit too much into the gory details of the corpse (they're all murder mysteries) and a bit too long in the courtroom for my taste, that's why I gave it a 3 star instead of a 4 star rating. The little touches that make these so 1 [...]


  • Stven

    Not my favorite Perry Mason story. Unlike many of the books from the 1930s and 1940s, this one from 1953 has aged poorly. The business with the spliced tape recording and surreptitiously erasing it with a magnet feels very tired, and the business with the alibi is so obvious that it's lame. The surrounding personalities don't quite rescue the story. And what does "the polished side of a pencil" mean, anyway?


  • Lisa

    Didn't like this one as much as some of the others, but still a good read. Because of certain occurances in this book, it should be read towards the end of any group of the Perry Mason books, but before the Grinning Gorilla.


  • Vincent Darlage

    Interesting conclusion, but less satisfying than most of the books in the Perry Mason series - although he made Sgt. Holcomb look like a fool, Hamilton Burger wasn't on scene to be made into legal hamburger.


  • Amicus (David Barnett)

    I had seen the TV version of this before reading the book and the TV adaptation took even more liberties with the original than usual, even down to the identity of the killer.Definitely this is one of Gardner's better Perry Mason stories with, as far a I could see, no loose ends.


  • Vinod Jayachandran

    Absolutely Flawless. Racy and Gripping from beginning to end. Definitely recommend if you like suspense thrillers.


  • Sriluckshmy

    the story looks unfinished. I know the case finished and all but still


  • Freya

    Mason novels have one thing for sure in common, the PYT's. There one for sure in every book and sometimes they are feisty ones like in this one!


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Name *
Email *
Website
  • Free Read [Biography Book] ☆ The Case of the Green-Eyed Sister - by Erle Stanley Gardner ✓
    186 Erle Stanley Gardner
  • thumbnail Title: Free Read [Biography Book] ☆ The Case of the Green-Eyed Sister - by Erle Stanley Gardner ✓
    Posted by:Erle Stanley Gardner
    Published :2019-09-08T00:20:01+00:00